Avalanche drills at the MCA's Basic Mountaineering School.

Photo by Travis Taylor.

Bird Peak from Esbay Peak. Chugach State Park.

Photo by Wayne Todd.

Snow travel school at the MCA's Basic Mountaineering School.

Photo by Brian Aho.

Carrie Wang illustrates the proper technique for a Butterfly Knot.

Photo by Wayne Todd.

Current Officers

The current officers and directors of the MCA are:

President: Charlie Sink
Vice President: Katie Strong
Treasurer: Brian Miller
Secretary: Max Neale
Directors: Cory Hinds (Past President), Nathan Hebda, Stephen Austria, Ralph Baldwin, Jennifer DuFord

If you would like to see a history of the MCA officers and directors, check out the document linked below.


(54 KB)
MCA Officer History
History of MCA Officers and Directors from 1958 to Present.

NOTE: Many of the documents are in PDF format and require Adobe Acrobat Reader for viewing. Acrobat Reader software may be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.

© 2017 Mountaineering Club of Alaska     Box 243561,  Anchorage, AK 99524-3561     Contact Us

Many thanks to: Wayne Todd, Tim Silvers, Ross Noffsinger, Steve Gruhn, Carrie Wang, Billy Finley and many others who provided information, ideas and photos. And thanks to Willy Hersman who created, managed and hosted the first MCA website, without which this site's development would have been so much more difficult. Current website donated by Couloir Graphics.