The Scandinavia Peaks Hut sits among the magnificent Scandinavian peaks of the Matanuska Glacier area.

Photo by Wayne Todd.

Carrie Wang illustrates the proper technique for a Butterfly Knot.

Photo by Wayne Todd.

Bird Peak from Esbay Peak. Chugach State Park.

Photo by Wayne Todd.

Mt. Michelson summit ridge. Brooks Range, Arctic Refuge. Marcin Ksok and Carrie Wang.

Photo by Wayne Todd.

October 2012 General Meeting Minutes

MCA General Meeting Minutes October 17, 2012

Equipment:   Thanks to those who helped inventory ropes.

Calendar:  Members voted on photos during the meeting.

Huts:  Need point people for each hut.  Vicky Lytle and Travis Taylor have volunteered for the Mint and Scandinavian huts, respectively.  Check website for huts needs inventory. 

Training:  Thanks to all who helped with the Ice Climbing Festival.

Geographic Names:  There’s a notice in the Alaska Dispatch of a proposal to rename Powerline Pass to a native name, with no specific name offered.  Contact Alaska Dispatch or the State Parks advisory board if you want to comment.

Awards:  Tim Silvers awarded Jayme Mack and Vicky Lytle the President’s Award for all their service to the MCA.  He also awarded Vicky Lytle and Galen Flint MCA volunteer shirts.  For award drawings, the plan is to add another volunteer category to the three categories of Scree contributors, instructors, and trip leaders to include others such as Scree editor, hut maintenance workers, etc.

Elections:  The following officers and directors were elected:  Jayme Mack, President; Galen Flint, Vice President; Seth Weingarten, Treasurer; Kelley Williams, Secretary; Andy Mamrol, Director (2 year); Liz Bennett (2 year); Charlie Sink (1 Year).  Travis Taylor was nominated for a director position but not elected.       

Slide Show Presentation:  Cutting corners and covering ground:  fast-and-light self-supported traverses of Denali and Mount Logan by Luc Mehl.   

Greg Encelewski, Director

Previous Article     [ Back to Overview ]     Next Article

© 2021 Mountaineering Club of Alaska     Box 243561,  Anchorage, AK 99524-3561     Contact Us

Many thanks to: Wayne Todd, Tim Silvers, Ross Noffsinger, Steve Gruhn, Carrie Wang, Billy Finley and many others who provided information, ideas and photos. And thanks to Willy Hersman who created, managed and hosted the first MCA website, without which this site's development would have been so much more difficult. Current website donated by Couloir Graphics.